Interdisciplinary Research Program – TUDelft Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment
Seminar #2 DU-IED BK TU Delft / LABPROJ FAU USP—The architectural project of large-scale infrastructures: projections.

Convened by

BK TU Delft
Delft University of Technology
Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment
Department of Urbanism
Delta Urbanism Research Group

Elective Course/ Design Studio — AR086/AR093
Infrastructure and Environment Design (IED)

Taneha Kuzniecow Bacchin
assist. professor urban design theory and methods

LABPROJ FAU USP
University of São Paulo
Faculty of Architecture and Urbanism
Department of Project
Laboratory of Project
Research group on architecture project of fluvial urban infrastructures
(Fluvial metropolis group)

Post-Graduate Discipline — AUP5897
Architecture project of fluvial urban infrastructures

Alexandre Delijaicov
professor at FAU-USP, coordinator of LABPROJ-FAUUSP, architect of São Paulo City Hall.

_____

The seminar series aims to discuss the architecture of large-scale infrastructure in Brazil focusing on the design of regional waterways—their geography, narrative and manifestation (past, present, future). As a project, the architecture of waterways draws horizontal and vertical relations between infrastructure and landscape, politics and space from local to cross-national levels. The two seminar sessions will discuss the infrastructure project as a figure of modernity and its socio-ecological consequences (intents, translations and transpositions), with cases in São Paulo and the Amazon.

Joint activities of the disciplines
BK TU Delft – AR086/AR093 – Infrastructure and Environment Design (IED)
FAU USP – AUP5897 – Architecture project of fluvial urban infrastructures

Program

first session

10:00 BRT / 15:00 CET (10’)
opening
Taneha Bacchin and Alexandre Delijaicov 

10.10 BRT / 15.10 CET (20’)
Juliana Ayako, architect and researcher at LABPROJ FAU USP

title
Rio de Janeiro, the fluvial-maritime metropolis: imaginary and landscape on the waterfront

10.30 BRT / 15.30 CET (20’)
Wagner Amaral, architect Marinha do Brasil and PhD researcher at LABPROJ FAU USP

title
Nature, technology and society: the architecture of the nuclear district of Ipanema

10:50 BRT / 15:50 CET (20’)
Eloísa Ikeda, architect and PhD researcher at LABPROJ FAU USP

title
Sao Paulo, fluvial metropolis.
Fluvial urban infrastructure architectural design to canals of Pinheiros river, and Jaguare and Agua Podre stream

11.10 BRT / 16.10 CET (10’)
end of first session / coffee break

concluding session/ keynote

11.20 BRT / 16.20 CET (30’)
Vanessa Grossman, architect, historian of modern and contemporary architecture, and curator, Assistant Professor with the Chair of Architecture & Dwelling at TU Delft.

Ciro Miguel, architect, visual artist, and photographer based in Zurich and São Paulo.Doctoral fellow at ETH Zurich/gta institute.

title
Megalomania

11.50 BRT / 16.50 CET (20’)
debate

12.20 BRT / 17.20 CET
end of workshop
Taneha Bacchin and Alexandre Delijaicov 

Related
International Delta Conference—Redesigning Deltas
Territory as a Project: Accumulation—Clearance. Work-in-Progress Exhibition—2021-2022